Soldiers Without Guns - Film Screening & Discussion

soldier with guitar on his back

Join us on Sat, June 12 at 8am Perth / 12pm Auckland (Fri, 6/11 at 7pm central time,  8pm eastern time in USA) for a screening of Soldiers Without Guns, an extraordinary film that tells the story of how the bloody Civil War on the island of Bougainville was halted by a contingent of the New Zealand Defense Force that landed on the island, carrying no weapons, armed only with guitars, the haka, and other instruments of peace.

After the 90-minute film screening, we’ll have time for Q&A and discussion with the film director Will Watson, veteran and cultural advisor Des Ratima, and webinar participants.

This event is being hosted by: 

  • Friends Peace Teams-Asia West Pacific, a Spirit-led organization that believes peace is possible, conscientiously objects to war, and develops long-term relationships to create enduring cultures of peace and justice.
  • World BEYOND War is a grassroots global network across 190 countries advocating for the abolition of the institution of war and its replacement with an alternative global security system based on demilitarizing security, managing conflict nonviolently, and creating a culture of peace.

Registration info will be shared with both hosts.

REGISTER HERE